A Day Out in Lewes

Transferring from a 4 bed dirty house to a immaculately clean 2 bed flat has been a long drawn out process. We’ve now been in our little nest of a flat for over a week. Although it now definitely feels like home, it’s full of suitcases and things we don’t want. It still feels cluttered and a bit stuffy. This has meant getting out of the flat every day has been a definite necessity. Yesterday with the sky looking overcast, books in our bags and a rather grumpy boyfriend in tow I headed off for a day out in Lewes.

No doubt this won’t be the first time you’ll see me write about Lewes. It’s only about a 20 minute bus journey from where we live and is a relative haven of English-ness. Lewes has become quite special to me over these two years in Brighton. It’s where I meet my parents for the day if they come to visit and it’s where my boyfriend and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary!

IMG_3186

There are several spots I always tend to visit. The views on the hill past Lewes Castle are a favourite spot for gazing, while Bill’s Restaurant over the bridge of the canal is my favourite place to eat. Today we visited Flint Owl Bakery, a really lovely little bakery that heaves with bread made that very morning.

We visited for the first time on our anniversary and took silly photos like this:

P1130276

When we arrived yesterday it had turned quiet sunny so we sat out in their peaceful little garden, which I didn’t know existed. I had a very yummy latte, while the boyfriend worked out one of his many money saving schemes, choosing not to order anything due to its pricey nature.

BxQz6-kIEAAVfSH.jpg-large

It’s a great place to sit and relax. Lewes is a fairly peaceful place anyway, but with the traffic that goes through the town, it’s nice to sit in a back garden away from it for a bit.

After the coffee we strolled around town, chatting about the things we still needed to do for the flat. Sometimes it’s nice just to have a walk around hand in hand, as soppy as it sounds. Living with your boyfriend can sometimes make you forget how nice it is to have them around, and what great company they really are.

Unfortunately it was only a brief visit, neither of us feeling like exploring more and not feeling wealthy enough to sit down for a meal at Bill’s. Having said that, I did indulge in buying ‘We’re All Completely Beside Ourselves’ by Karen Joy Fowler. I can never resist buying at least one of the Booker shortlisted novels every year. It feels nice to root for someone to win, or to do the opposite in fact. I’m hoping to start it as soon as I finish ‘Under the Greenwood Tree’ by Thomas Hardy.

University term is starting very soon so I’m trying to savour these lazy strolling days before obligations set in again. What a hard life!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment