Book Review: ‘The Guest Cat’ by Takashi Hiraide

IMG_5218

 

‘Chibi stared intently with her deep green eyes at the clear liquid flowing from my wife’s eyes and rolling down her cheeks – these human things called tears’

 

I bought this slim novel before Christmas and the little cat on the cover has been staring at me, waiting intently, ever since. As a cat lover and a massive fan of another Japanese author, Haruki Murakami, this definitely looked like my kind of novel. The chapters, originally separate essays in their own right but combined by Takashi Hiraide, are pieces of pure simplicity and beauty. Let’s have a chat about it!

I started the novel on a train into London and was immediately invested in the married couple and their occasional cat visitor Chibi. The chapters are short and simple, mapping out the goings on along the street, and the interactions between the pair and the guest cat. Each chapter takes on a new subject, not necessarily continuing on from the previous. This creates a window into the couple’s life that captures pivotal moments, as well as smaller, more intimate goings on.

To say the book is simple isn’t a negative; their description is clear and crisp. I could see the old Japanese house and its thriving garden clearly as I read along. It was calming to read something so descriptive, with a simple plot, rather than a fast paced narrative. Almost as if looking at a watercolour, you see the images Hiraide creates, and can take away from them what you want.

Any cat owner will understand and recognise each description of Chibi’s behaviour perfectly. I fell in love with her as the narrative went on, just as the couple does. The cat becomes such an intrinsic part of their life, in a way that I think any pet does, even though Chibi is not theirs. Although I still think non-cat lovers will enjoy the novel, the devotion the pair have for their guest cat may be a little puzzling for those without cats. I hope this isn’t the case, but I may be biased with three cats of my own that I absolutely adore.

IMG_5156

While most of the narrative is without embellishment, there are moments of absolute beauty in the novel, highlighting Hiraide’s skill as a poet as well as an author. Each chapter is a love letter to the cat, and the other roaming cats around their rented home. It focuses on the relationship between animals and humans which, although often seeming mutually affectionate, can be fragile and unpredictable.

The novel is perfect for a commute, as the short chapters are easy to pick up and leave, without really feeling like you’ve lost track of what’s going on. I enjoyed the novel hugely, smiling and tearing up in equal measure. My only criticism would be the rather puzzling ending. Without giving much away, Hiraide leaves the reader with a question, rather than a conclusive ending. I wasn’t expecting it in such a light read, and it left me unsatisfied.

Despite the ending, I missed the novel as soon as I finished it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick and rewarding read!

Thanks for reading x

Leave a comment